Food styling & Photography

Existe uma profissão que eu admiro imenso: food stylist (estilista gastronómica). Em filmes que fiz a direcção de arte, pude ver alguns em acção. Trabalham com pinças e utensílios de cozinha estranhos ao comum dos mortais. Talvez por gostar muito de cozinha e o fazer com muita dedicação, queira que a apresentação fique o melhor e mais original possível sendo este um gosto que vem de longe. Ainda me recordo que, no IADE, na minha pós-graduação, havia um crédito que era ornamentação de pratos. Não a pude fazer, porque fui a única inscrição. Tive colegas a perguntarem-me porque é que eu queria aquilo… Ou o porquê de utilizar flores comestíveis quando cozinhava.

Acho que é uma profissão exige um elevado grau de exigência estética, dedicação e preciosismo impressionante. Quando se associa a capacidade de fazer food styling e fotografia numa só pessoa é admirável.

Na brincadeira costumo dizer que é o que vou fazer na minha próxima vida. Pode ser que ainda nesta, quem sabe… Pelo sim pelo não, vou-me inspirando na minha pasta do Pinterest, http://pinterest.com/atligiacasanova/in-my-next-life-i-ll-be-a-food-stylist/

Para verem melhor, deixo-vos com duas profissionais de topo:

* Araceli Paz, Chilena de nacionalidade, que associa food styling e a fotografia ( www.aracelipaz.com )

* Katie Quinn Davies, irlandesa que começou como designer gráfica, que agora vive em Sidney e fotógrafa de gastronomia ( www.whatkatieate.com )

Enjoy!

Imagem

Katie Quinn Davies

There’s a profession I really admire: food stylist. In films that I was responsible for art direction, I got to see some in action. They work with tweezers and other kitchen material that common mortal will find odd.
I like good and original dish presentation, maybe because I’ve liked cooking and doing it with dedication for so long. I still remember when I went to IADE-U (Institute of Art, Design and Enterprise – University), during my postgraduate in graphic design, there was a food styling professorship. I couldn’t do it because the only application was mine. I had classmates asking me why I even wanted it… Or why I used edible flowers on the food I made.

I think it is a profession that demands high esthetic requirement, devotion and an impressive preciousness. It is admirable when food styling and photography are someone’s abilities.

I usually joke about doing it on my next life. Maybe this one, who knows… But, just in case, I get inspired on my Pinterest archive, http://pinterest.com/atligiacasanova/in-my-next-life-i-ll-be-a-food-stylist/.

If you want to see more, I leave you with two top professionals:

* Araceli Paz, from Chile, that connects food styling and photography ( http://www.aracelipaz.com ).
* Katie Quinn Davies, from Ireland, that started as a graphic designer and now leaves in Sidney as a food photographer ( http://www.whatkatieate.com ).

Enjoy!

Imagem

Araceli Paz

About Atelier Lígia Casanova

Graphic, interior designer and art director for advertising movies. “To make room for happiness” is my moto. www.ligiacasanova.com

Leave a Reply

